Yogi: I Say “Bear” and You Say “Namaste”

When life is chaotic and non-stop, we all need a moment to sit and relax.  My mind is always going, even when I get that opportunity.  I’m in total envy of those people who can sit and meditate or just focus on one’s breath.  My mind just jumps from one thing to another.  And although my Evernote app has taken a fair share of constant “to do” lists out of constant rotation in my brain, I can’t get the wheels to stop spinning.

Groupon had a great deal on a set of ten yoga classes at a studio near my house; such a great deal that it would be like paying for three regular priced classes.  Who doesn’t need an hour to just sit on the floor and zone out?  I always liked the idea of yoga as a hobby, because I’m realistic to know that I’m not the kind of girl who could become a true yogi and live that naturally peaceful lifestyle on a day to day basis.  As appealing as it would be, I’d be kidding myself to think that was likely.  But I did like the idea of keeping my mat in the car and wearing my cute yoga pants to class here and there, and getting a nice and exaggerated session of stretching to calming music.

I aspire to practice a regular activity that calms me rather than burdens me.

I was given three months to use these 10 classes.  Guess who used half my classes and has a little less than two weeks left to keep going?  This gal.  I truly think I psyche myself out when it comes to yoga.  The fact that I can’t get my mind to relax and focus on the ultimate goal of yoga is so frustrating for me.  Though I am usually proud that I’m more flexible than I thought, I’m also a klutz.  I also don’t follow verbal directions well since I’m a visual learner.  That being said, I always get an outgoing teacher who wants to try some new and complex activity during a beginner class, which causes me to strain my neck to focus on where my body parts should be.  Oh yeah, and meanwhile I can’t forget to focus on my breathing.  Before you know it, I’m slightly stressed, my hands are slippery and I can barely stay in the downward facing dog without panicking that I’ll face plant into my mat.

This is not relaxing.

There is a meditation class option coming up.  I think this could be a possibility.  The less focus on movement and the more focus on easing the mind there is, the better off I will be.  I respect what yoga is and the practice, I think maybe it’s not my thing.  My biggest takeaway from my last class what getting the instrutor to give me the artists on her playlist, because it had been driving me crazy the entire session. Maybe I could just go back to listening to a peaceful album with headphones on to mentally drift, like I could in high school.  I’ll even throw in a stretch once or twice to make it a little healthier.

Image courtesy of yogaworkouthq.com

2 thoughts on “Yogi: I Say “Bear” and You Say “Namaste”

  1. The stress you experience is normal when starting yoga. You want to get it right, follow the instructions, keep the breath steady, lengthen your spine, align your hips (the list goes on) – hey, that’s stressful, isn’t it? Keep going for a while and it becomes like playing the guitar if you know how to do it. The movements just happen, like the finger combinations to strike certain notes, the hard work you had to put into it at the beginning will be forgotten and you’ll enjoy yourself tremendously! 🙂

  2. My biggest objection to yoga class was having to GO somewhere (even though it’s a block away) on a particular day: I always remember on Tuesday that I coulda shoulda woulda been at yoga on Monday. The online videos at Yoga Journal’s 21-Day Yoga Challenge work fine for me. The class is still there if I miss Monday and don’t get to it ’til Tuesday. Or Wednesday. It’s not for everyone: some need the live instructor, but I’ve done yoga long enough to remember most of the poses called for in the beginner class so I don’t have to be watching the screen every minute. They have a meditation audio too.

    Anyway, I’m only on Day Three this morning, so we’ll see how it goes. Good luck with the spinning wheels, Sounds very familiar…I think that’s what drives people to drugs and booze.

I'd love to hear from you...