Kind Deeds Make the World Worth Smiling About

There is proof that doing the honorable thing is still popular; well, at least noteworthy.

I was browsing Yahoo tonight and I found an article that really made me smile; Ohio runner stops in state final to aid fallen opponent. It tells of a high school junior, Meghan Vogel, who stopped to nearly carry a delirious runner over the finish line, instead of bypassing her and finishing the race solo.

Though I’m sure people do the right thing every day, we are hammered with unforgivable stories that leave millions of Americans shaking their heads at the news broadcast. I’m sure we aren’t alone, as this is likely a global consensus. There is a trend where there are a handful of news sources that will end the broadcast with an uplifting story that will give you faith in society again, and for that I’m grateful. This is one of those stories. It’s simple and it’s just plain touching. I’d like to think that things like this happen often, even when cameras aren’t capturing moments like this.

No, Meghan didn’t put aside her chance to win to help a weak Arden McMath, but she knew it was right to help her, than to simply pass her by. She even had Arden cross the line first and took last place for herself.

I don’t think the world is an awful place, but sometimes it’s easy to think so. I don’t want to live in a naive world of puppies and rainbows, but the fact is, if we can’t celebrate the fact that kindness that still exists, how can we really appreciate people and what life is all about?

Please check out the video here if you have a moment.  It’s simple, but it inspired me this evening.

 

5 thoughts on “Kind Deeds Make the World Worth Smiling About

  1. Thanks for posting the video. I agree we have to hope in the kindness of others. I believe if I teach my children to be kind that I will know that there are two wonderful people in this world that can inspire others.

    • I love your comment. I think that is all you can hope for, that what you’ve created is so wonderful that it will perpetuate and continue to spawn kindness. That is an awesome outlook.

      • Thank you. I honestly believe if you look at life that way it can only be good. The tragedy of my dad’s stroke 2 years ago changed my outlook. I always loved life but I didn’t appreciate the little things as much as I should. Now I try not to let a moment go by without loving it and being completely present. 🙂

  2. Many decades ago my wise old grandmother subscribed to a news tabloid by the name of “Grit.” It was all about good deeds, good news, positive life affirmations, etc. It went bankrupt in the late 1980s.

I'd love to hear from you...

