Past Lives: Who Were You Before?

This post could be the one that pushes me into either crazy territory or a relatable one.  I’m supposed to be truthful and share who I am in this blog, so I’ll get on with it.

Do you believe in past lives? Whether your religion abides by this belief or not, it might have crossed your mind.

I wasn’t raised to believe that we were reborn but there is something in me that leads me to believe that maybe I’ve been here on earth before. I don’t know who I was or where I was born. I don’t even know when I was here or how many times. I know that there are things I’ve been drawn to since I was a child, and these feelings drew me despite the fact that my family never led me there.

I grew up Irish/German Catholic, in America and in the 80’s. I have had a subconscious fear of someone stealing my shoes since I was a child and I’ve been drawn to 30’s and 40’s music even before my peers went through a rap and bad pop phase. I have however, since the time I began school, had a fascination with the Holocaust.  I’m not going to sit here and say this means anything, nor will I claim any actual connection to this time, but it’s a very odd feeling. I longed for rucksacks, lunch dates with my Grandmoms and leather journals, fedoras and an antique phonograph. I had a reoccurring dream when I was a child of men dragging me out of my house and stealing my Mom’s pearls. I would be so scared I couldn’t go back to sleep.  The grandfather clock outside my bedroom door would transform into a steady soldier or officer in the night that kept watch.

But I came from a pretty sheltered home, where I couldn’t watch Goonies because the kids cursed in it and I wasn’t allowed to play guns with the boys because it was too violent. I don’t know where my fears came from.  I don’t know why I would get upset about someone stealing my shoes when Dad woke me on the couch, even if I had my shoes on. I didn’t have brothers, sisters or cousins to play tricks on me at that time yet.

Maybe I’m crazy. These could be coincidences and maybe I’m mentally as odd as my medical file. I’ve always been the unique one out of the bunch.  But I wonder if anyone else has a feeling that they’ve been somewhere in another time. Besides having reoccurring fear, I don’t feel that I’ve ever experienced true tragedy; I just wish I knew where my tendencies came from.

Can you relate?

Photos courtesy of Etsy and Explore PA History.com.

14 thoughts on “Past Lives: Who Were You Before?

  1. I can relate. Though not with odd fears of mine. I often feel that my mind set is for a different time. My husband has it much worse, though. At only 31 he hates all things to do with computers and credit and is very suspicious of new technology. He often goes on soap box rants about the lack of common sense “these days,” how people have become slaves to technology and longs for the “good ole days”.

    I had our numbers read once, mostly just for fun. According to the numerologist, my husband’s soul has been around for a very very long time. Mine has only been around for the past few centuries. She was amazed at how much our numbers complimented each other and suspects that we had been together before. Pretty crazy. I don’t know what I think about it all. I do know that, like you, I am usually the unique or quirky one out of the bunch. 😉

    • Wow, that’s really interesting. I often thought about finding a reader of some type, but you never know who you can trust.

      I wouldn’t be surprised that your husband is an old soul. And only a unique soul like yourself would understand them 🙂

  2. My son sometimes wonders if he was on the Titanic. He’s always had a fascination with it…even before Cameron made it trendy…since he was a boy.

  3. Wooo, spooky. No I can’t really relate but I have an open mind. However I always get the certain feeling, on approaching Cork City, that I belong there. This despite the fact (although my parents were from West Cork) I’ve never actually lived there.
    Strangely the late and great author Pete McCarthy experienced exactly the same feeling.

    • Really? Did Pete write about that feeling, I’m guessing? That is pretty fascinating.
      I know what you mean though. Though there are many beautiful places we enjoy visiting, it’s different being a place that you feel like you belong in. It really makes you wonder.

      • In his book McCarthy’s Bar if I’m not mistaken. It’s a nice feeling. I’ve yet to experience a ‘previous life’ and I’d be interested to hear more such stories.

  4. I can relate! I have always been drawn to the Victorian periord, and I have often had very vivid dreams about living in that time period. In my dreams I have even met people who I know now, yet even though they are in a different body I recognize them. Odd maybe, I dunno, but I am interested in the subject. Thank you for the thought provoking post!

    • Wow, that is fascinating. I think I know what you mean about recognizing people, but not as they are today. I’m so glad you shared, it’s so interesting how the mind works, isn’t it?
      I appreciate your comment!

  5. I can relate in some odd ways. Your thoughts are of the past but mine are into the future. I had experiences that when I am trying out new gadgets and applications, I feel like I used them before and has the hang of using those things. Those post is really out of the box. 🙂

    • I must say that I’ve never heard of experiences like that. I wonder what it means. It definately sounds like you’re an innovator of some kind.
      Thank you for the compliment, I really appreciate it.

      • I just call it weird and at the same time awesome. You deserve the compliment 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

