I’m a Comic Dork: Proof We Can Change

I’m not sure if I should be happy or disappointed that the highlight of my weekend was the new Avengers movie.  The Marvel (now Disney owned) franchise has been leading us, their public, with stories of individual comic book heroes for a few years, to present this ultimate concoction of big muscles and infinite possibilities.  With all the lead-up publicity to this movie, I was leery of it reaching my expectations but I was pleasantly surprised.

But first, I must preface any further comic talk by saying…who am I?

I was not raised with comics, unless you count the random Archie ones that lined the bottom of my toy box.  The most I knew about superheroes was that Jerry Seinfeld had his Superman figurine on the shelf in his apartment and that he was a big fan.  Then I met my husband.  To this day, I think his favorite gifts that I’ve gotten him are his Marvel and later the DC encyclopedias.  To me, these were huge and expensive books that I really didn’t understand.  But you have to understand that my husband’s favorite way to relax is to watch cartoons.  You can find him there with a bowl of cereal or ice cream, eyes glued to poorly dialogued cartoons pretty much anytime I’m busy doing something else.

As I got to know him, I saw how excited he would get about each new comic, movie, show, character, etc.  I know the guy is smart, but his memory is incredible.  He’d tell me about the alien names, fictional cities, weapons, character traits and abilities, all will ease.  He’s like a human cheat sheet.  It impressed me because so much of the comic world includes words that are made up, and completely unfamiliar to the dictionary you or I would use.  He would go on about how a line of dialogue was important because it drew from a movie ten years ago, or why a character acted a certain way.  Similarly, he does the same with series like Harry Potter or Game of Thrones.  With what feels like fifty or more characters, he can elaborate on all the details that would sound to anyone else like gibberish.

Needless to say, I love the guy and I’d buy him superhero shirts as I saw them or little things I thought he’d enjoy.  Then I even started watching the movies with him, and letting him explain backstories or trivial information that he found crucial to a plot.  When a new movie would come out, there would be a forced viewing of the prequels, so I’d be prepared and he’d be refreshed on all the details.  Since we subscribed to Netflix, he gets the cartoons fairly regularly and as much as I want to roll my eyes, because I had zero intention of going that far into this, I end up sitting there and asking questions.  Who am I?

I’m a dork.  That’s who I am.  I know I’ve always been one, but it’s just gone a step further.  I bought an Avengers shirt and went to the movie today with my Captain America-clad husband and our advance purchased tickets and I understood everything.  Everything.

I’m creepily proud of my knowledge.  I didn’t need any explanation.  We went with a group of friends, and as the only girl willing to attend, I felt like Penny from the Big Bang Theory; if Penny got completely corrupted by the physicists.

So I present to you, proof that people can change and learn to appreciate and acquire fondness for things that most women I know would leave for thirteen year old boys.  Yay.

One thought on “I’m a Comic Dork: Proof We Can Change

I'd love to hear from you...

