Rockin’ With the Chili Peppers

I spent some time tonight writing a commentary on my experiences with the Red Hot Chili Peppers when I was younger. I say that like I’m old, but skipping work for concerts seems like a lifetime ago.

I won’t bore you with all the stories of mayhem; backdoor crashing, wristband making, concussions, “just in case” cigarettes and debt-building concert tours; (unless you ask me to).

What I will share, is that these were some of the happiest days of my life…so far. They are a band I followed since I was eight. And it became much easier to have access to shows and special events while I lived in Southern California after I graduated high school. I was foolish with money, spent time with some weird people and looked up to musicians who did a lot of drugs. I did not condone the drug use, but I did find solace in the music and theirs became a soundtrack to many years of solid memories and friendships.

Some people hate them, some people love them and I’m not here to debate that. I used to try but really, what is the point of trying to convince someone to alter their taste? I personally have a connection to them, which is that I feel happy when I hear them. My hips rock to Flea’s bass and my feet tap to Chad’s drums. I can’t resist singing along, even when the lyrics don’t make logical sense and no matter who is playing guitar, there is a hauntingly soulful sound on most tracks that just make me…happy.

I’ve posted a shot of me when I was 18. I just moved to San Diego and went up to Los Angeles for a charity event that the Peppers would be playing at. I snuck into the celebrity-only area and met the band for the first time. I’m smiling so hard that I look scary in this picture, while Anthony was in the middle of asking my photographer when to smile. My words to him did not make sense that night, and it was the first and only time in my life I was wordless…imagine that. I stood there in my leather pants and platinum hair and grinned for what felt like days. What a doofus, I think now. But what naive joy there is to be that young and happy without a care in the world.

3 thoughts on “Rockin’ With the Chili Peppers

  1. So happy for you, and AK, that you were able to be in the same frame together! Have you read AK’s – Scar Tissue? I cannot listen to one single song of theirs without feeling the heartbreak of those LA streets which, I have to tell you, I have a big soft spot for. Happy memories and best wishes to you!

    • Of course I read it!
      I agree, I spent a lot of time in LA and as a fan, it’s hard not to feel like they’ve left a mark all over the city. They embraced their surroundings and so many aspects of the lifestyle there, good and bad. Thank you for your kind comment, it is nice to hear from someone who was as affected. So many people think of them as a joke band but there is a lot of depth not recognized by the general public.
      Take care Patti.

I'd love to hear from you...

