Handling the Lottery Win…Mentally

To be honest, I didn’t expect it, so there isn’t any disappointment. Like most offices in the states that participate in this lottery, we had an office pool. It was going to be interesting to split it between 244 people. I felt exhausted thinking about the chaos that would ensue and the way people would then sue like crazy, we’d probably never get paid.  To not play though would be foolish.  Who wants to be that guy on Monday who sits alone when people have already booked a cruise and rolled in with their new car?  What a disaster that would be.

It’s funny to think of the possibilities; not so much on what we’d buy but how it would change us. I figured, if we split the jackpot and won just a simple million, I’d try to be conservative and invest it well so it lasted awhile. But you can’t be anonymous anymore when you win. So of course I’d do some good things for family and close friends, but imagine what it would be like when you go to the pub for a night out. Everyone would expect you to pay, all the time, and if you don’t, you’re a jerk. Everywhere you go people would expect you to cover it. I’d probably want to most of the time, but I don’t like people expecting it or feeling owed because of my fortune. Now I’m already mad at my friends. I knew this was going to happen. Can’t they just be happy for me? Family too?  What do they want now? I mean, I paid off their mortgage and bought them a new car. Now we’re going to end up just where we started. Thanks a lot.

Got a little off track there, I apologize. Back to reality, there is no extra money to sort out and maybe that’s ok. Who wants to be financially set anyway? There is so much fun playing “how will we pay our bills?” I shouldn’t complain, we are very lucky to have everything we need. We may not have everything we want, but who does? We have what money can’t buy, so the extra dough would be nice but it’s not everything. The excitement of winning is likely steamrolled by the anxiety of dealing with the aftermath anyway.

I still think it’s funny when people who are poor buy lotto tickets every day and then get mad that they are poor. But they are spending extra money they don’t have, every day. Five bucks a day adds up too. It would be like having a small scratch off win at the end of each month if they saved the money instead. I know, I’m no fun now and I just got over being bitter in my winning fantasy. What a mess. Night folks…I wish you the best if you played. I’ll let you buy me a beer when I see you. I kid; you’ll need it more than me.

Image courtesy of cartoonstock.com 

2 thoughts on “Handling the Lottery Win…Mentally

I'd love to hear from you...

