Adulterers in Romantic Comedies Don’t Do it For Me

Whether we like to or not, there are well known people in the world that we simply like, let’s call them celebrities.  The reasons could be for any reason really; they could remind you of your favorite relative, they are simply gorgeous to gawk at or you adore their body of work.  I tend to want to get to know people well when I like them.  I don’t think this is very uncommon, but when I admire the work of a celebrity, I sometimes reading about them and discovering the (wo)man behind the magic.  Maybe it is the investigative part of me.  The tricky thing is to learn for fun and not actually think you know them because a few articles were read.  We also can’t invest ourselves in a person we don’t know.  This is what happens to the stalkers and teen idol fans.

A good friend of mine from years ago loved tabloids and the who’s who of Hollywood.  We both enjoy kitschy humor, goofy characters and pretty much any witty comedy.  We would quote Seinfeld on a regular basis because so much of the humor fit into daily life and I remember telling her that Julia Louis-Dreyfus was going to be on one of the late night shows.

“I won’t watch it” she said.  “But she’s your favorite, why?” I asked her.

She went on to explain that whenever she develops a fondness for a character or an actor, she refuses to watch anything which presents the actual personality of the actor/actress.  She explained that if they said something that rubbed her the wrong way or if she saw them in a different light than what she envisioned in her mind, it would ruin the entertainment part of it.  I thought it was a little silly at first, but looking back, I can’t say I disagree.

The last thing I want to do is create a political debate, but I find that when celebrities that I’d typically really enjoy on screen, back politicians I don’t support or if they make bad choices in general, it really does affect my enjoyment of their work.  I guess I should elaborate.  The guys and gals of Hollywood who cheat on their spouses, I just have a difficult time seeing them in romantic roles after that.  Ashton Kutcher for example, used to be a goofy, sort of cute Midwest guy who I now see as a sleaze ball.  Don’t try to reel me into a romantic comedy about how he is the down and out guy who needs love but keeps getting rejected.  I won’t buy into it.  And I could care less about Demi Moore mind you, I just won’t be able to believe the characters they intend to portray.

This is stupid for several reasons, because:

A)     We are all entitled to our own beliefs and lifestyles, as you and I are.

B)      Why I believe they need to appease my feelings so I watch their show is beyond me.

C)      They are just people who should not be glorified in any way, anyway.

Now, trust me when I say that I do not glorify celebrities, particularly since I don’t have the time to sit down and watch enough pop culture to really know who half the celebrities are today as it is.  But I think because I’m a realist, I just like to see people for who they are.  I have a very difficult time letting them trick me into believing they are an alternate character.  I don’t know if I’m proud of that or I’m just a fool for simply not taking entertainment for exactly what it is supposed to be; entertainment.

This is the cheesiest post I’ve ever written.  If my main complaint today is that I can’t envision a romantic comedy with the lead played by an adulterer, life must be pretty good.

Photos courtesty of catalogs.com and Star magazine.

4 thoughts on “Adulterers in Romantic Comedies Don’t Do it For Me

  1. I agree, but it’s getting harder and harder to find a movie (or a sports event, or anything else) that allows me to embrace all the players without reservations.. People in the public eye, for whatever reason, have a chance to set an example and it’s a shame when it turns out to be a poor one.

    • I guess that’s why I tend to gravitate toward the celebrities that fly just below the radar. There isn’t enough to know, to have them tarnish a good thing. Thank you for commenting, I thought I might have been alone in feeling this way.

I'd love to hear from you...

