You’re pretty for an old lady

“It sometimes happens that a woman is handsomer at twenty-nine than she was ten years before.”
-Jane Austen

My time is coming.  I sure hope I fall into the category that Jane speaks of.  I’d like to think I have a good chance of aging well because of genes.  I think my Mom and her lineage have had pretty admirable wrinkle-free skin, and my Dad’s skin is handsome as well.  I could say the Irish/German/English lineage has done wonders, but that would be a crock.  I’ve seen what Irish wind and weather does to the skin.

I have implemented many of the mainstays that my family has, for years.  Though I’ve tried many fancy new alternatives along the way, I always go back to the same routine.  Simple, tried and true habits are pretty darn effective.

  • ALWAYS remove your make-up at the end of the day.  Seems obvious, people don’t do it.
  • Oil of Olay – every morning and night.
  • Daily sun protection, even if just your hands and face see daylight in the offseason.
  • Dove soap and a soft baby washcloth = softer skin
  • Pat your skin with your towel, no need to tug at it and rub it off
  • Put Vaseline on your hands and wear soft gloves when you go to bed in the winter
  • Lotion on your piggies before you put on your socks
  • Try Witch hazel or something more organic on breakouts, etc.
  • Don’t pick/scratch at yourself.  So hard if you’re a picker.
  • Grandmom said a dab of spit on your mosquito bite stops the itch so you don’t scrape your skin. (It works)
  • Rose salve – miracle for anything that needs fixin’ on the go; lips, cuticles, burns, etc.
  • I know you love your doggie, but don’t let him lick all over your face.  Or anyone for that matter.
  • Let loose…no sleeping in undergarments.
  • Don’t go to sleep with a wet head – after a while you’ll get flakes
  • Drink plenty of water.
  • Eat your vegetables.
  • Take the stairs when the opportunity arises.
  • Do something good for yourself while doing mundane tasks.  (I stretch while I brush my teeth.)
  • Wear sunglasses or a hat in the sun.
  • Don’t eat while standing up.  The fat goes to your legs. – Ok, this is not true, but I was told this as a child and I think it’s hilarious.

I feel as though I’ve lectured you.  But, you’ll have to tell me if you end up going to bed in just gloves.

I'd love to hear from you...

