How much is a first class stamp these days?

44 cents.  I googled it.

Loving books, the feel of paper and the romance of writing has always brought out a stationery junkie in me.  I have so many boxes of blank cards.  Some are funny, some are just beautiful and some are plain as to match the mood of anything I want to say.  I rarely use them anymore.  I even have a card box with an array of little tabs, so a very organized individual can keep track of holidays or meaningful reasons one should send a card.  I had great ambition to do that.  I have about 30 cards shoved in one little folder.

Last night I sat down and wrote out a couple of cards to people who deserved them.  I’ve had a sticky note on my phone for weeks as a form of encouragement to do actually do this.  You know, it didn’t take that long and felt good to do.  Sometimes I get embarrassed because I have the intention to drop a note to someone special, then so much time passes that I somehow feel even more embarrassed that I’ve waited so long.  I inevitably do nothing.  And guess what?  More than embarrassed, I get disappointed that I don’t follow through with more good intentions.  This random acts of kindness stuff sometimes makes me anxious, but I’d like to think I have or will make up for it.  It’s the thought that counts still, right?

Who doesn’t like getting mail?  Real mail that is, not credit card applications.

Do you think kids still learn to write in cursive?  Do you think elementary school kids will write at all when they grow up?

I'd love to hear from you...

