Becoming a self-reliant me

I’m in my late 20’s, though some would say I’m closer to 80.  Strange as it sounds, I take that as a compliment.  I’m not in a wheelchair yet or anything, but there’s something to be said about our Grandparents’ generation.  They were self-reliant, but the world around them still managed to flourish, what does that say about our society today?  Mom and Pop stores succeeded, though we didn’t consume as much product, have mounds of plastic junk or utilize as many paid services.  Things just worked.  Something to ponder about the simplicity of life.

Thanks to my parents, Grandmothers and Great-Grandmom, I was raised with the gift of knowledge.  Beyond the recipes and cooking lessons, there are so many wonderful things I’m proud to know, like being able to hem my own jeans or finding new uses for things most people would toss.  No, I don’t have time to do everything I’ve been taught or to do everything the old-fashioned way, but I know that as time goes on and no matter what happens, I can keep my home going.

I’m lucky because my husband is the same way.   He grew up on a farm, and has a self-reliant mindset, which is one of the reasons I believe we get along so well.  We appreciate the rewards of putting in hard work, in the form of vegetables we eat all summer from our garden or the pride when we get compliments on something we’ve restored in our home.  Sure, it would be really simple to go buy all new things and throw away all the old stuff, but we choose not to.  A sheet of sandpaper and a coat of paint can work miracles.

My goal is to start utilizing more of the “old-fashioned” ways of life that I’ve learned, in our lives today.  I’ll use tricks from my family and seek out new ones and chronicle what works, and what is worth the effort.  I’ll take a guess that the hardest part will be finding the time, but I foresee the rewards will be great.  Maybe if I call my ideas “vintage”, it’ll become popular…

I'd love to hear from you...

